How can i make the player enter a boat

Godot Version

Question

I am new to godot and trying to learn while making stuff in the proccess. I have a player and a boat with their separate moving systems all set up. And i am trying to figure out how to make the player actually board the boat.

So far i have made the player press E while standing close to the boat change animation to “boatidle” an animation where he is sitting and lock the players movement.

My problem is that i want the player to teleport after pressing E to a specific location “inside” the boat. So i basically want to know how can i teleport the player to a specific location after pressing a button. Also the boat could be ported in different places so i need a way for the player to teleport on top of the boat no matter where it is located.

Code inside boat for detecting if player is close enough:
Screenshot_11

Code inside player for switching to boat_state :
player interact

player board func

Thanks a lot and i hope my explanation was clear enough for you to understand.

1 Like

maybe via add_child? You could define a Node3D in the boot as a placeholder and insert the player there. But I’m not sure if that would be the best solution.

1 Like

Idk how that would work when the player exits the boat tho. Cause he needs to teleport back to a specific place on exit as well. Also my project is 2D but this doesn’t really effect your solution just wanted to add it

with 2D it is probably easier, then ‘remove_child’, and position the player nearby

Where do you want them to be able to exit? Only on land/docks, or just anywhere including the water?

land/docks. I’d like to have a set place for the player to teleport on exit/entering

1 Like

Okay, I think I have a way for you to do it, it’s not complicated, but can you post the code that activates the sitting animation for the player? And are you using a collision to detect if the boat is close enough to the player, how is that being done?