How to make an efficient/performant 3D sky shader starfield?

Godot Version

Question

I am trying to make a 3D game set in space, where I want to have a WorldEnivornment Sky with a rich starfield, as well as visible sun.

Ideally I would like to procedurally generate the starfield, so that I can vary the appearance procedurally for each game cycle, and I want to experiment with creating a “band” of stars representing a “milky way”-like nearest galaxy.

I have been experimenting with a sky shader to accomplish this, but I am new to shaders.

My current shader implementation:

shader_type sky;

group_uniforms sun; // First DirectionalLight3D will be the sun
	uniform vec3 sun_color : source_color = vec3( 10.0, 8.0, 1.0 );
	uniform vec3 sun_sunset_color : source_color = vec3( 10.0, 0.0, 0.0 );
	uniform float sun_size : hint_range( 0.01, 1.0 ) = 0.012;
	uniform float sun_blur : hint_range( 0.01, 20.0 ) = 0.01;

uniform lowp vec2 starpos_array[1000];

void sky() {
	float color = 0.0;
	COLOR = vec3(color);
	float _sun_distance = 0.0;
	if( LIGHT0_ENABLED )
	{
		_sun_distance = distance( EYEDIR, LIGHT0_DIRECTION );
		// Bigger sun near the horizon
		float _sun_size = sun_size + cos( LIGHT0_DIRECTION.y * PI ) * sun_size * 0.25;
		// Finding sun disc and edge blur
		float _sun_amount = clamp(( 1.0 - _sun_distance / _sun_size ) / sun_blur, 0.0, 1.0 );
		if( _sun_amount > 0.0 )
		{
			// Changing color of the sun during sunset
			vec3 _sun_color = sun_color;
			// Leveling the "glow" in color
			if( _sun_color.r > 1.0 || _sun_color.g > 1.0 || _sun_color.b > 1.0 )
				_sun_color *= _sun_amount;
			COLOR = mix( COLOR, _sun_color, _sun_amount );
		}
	}
	float _star_distance = 0.0;
	for (int i = 0; i < starpos_array.length(); i++) 
	{
		_star_distance = distance( SKY_COORDS, starpos_array[i] );
		if (_star_distance<0.0001)
		{
			COLOR = vec3(1.0,1.0,1.0);
		}
	}
}

The star x-y positions are given randomly by this simple loop:

static class RandomStarfield
    {