Level loading in 2d platformer game

Hi, I’m pretty new to GODOT coding an am working on my first game.
I am following a tutorial by MuddyWolf on youtube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKlKMBSM2Ss) to try and get started but have gotten stuck at a main menu option. I have made a main menu and I am trying to load my first level after pressing ‘play’

When I press play it completely crashes and comes up with this error message:

not all arguments converted during string formatting in operator ‘%’.
I’m pretty sure it has something to do with this line of code here:
However, I have absolutely no clue how to fix it.
Any help would be appreciated

i’m sorry, what’s that supposed to do? What are you hoping level_path will be?

% is a string interpolation operator - given a string with variables in it, replace them with these other things.

tooltip_text = "%s\n%s" % [data.name, data.description]

If you want string concatentation you use +. But your code doesn’t look like it needs that - isn’t the value (in yellow) all you need?

var level_fqn = "res://scenes/world.tscn"
get_tree().change_scene_to_file(level_fqn)

i don’t know where level_data.level_path fits in. Is it maybe supposed to be

get_tree().change_scene_to_file(level_data.level_path)
1 Like

Thanks for your help! I still am very new and was just following MuddyWolf’s youtube pixel platformer tutorial so I’m not really sure what level_path does to be honest.
I tried your suggestion with the
var level_fqn = “res://scenes/world.tscn”
get_tree().change_scene_to_file(level_fqn)
and it came up with a different error message in a separate script for my level being:

I also tried to add the
get_tree().change_scene_to_file(level_data.level_path)
to my original code and when I tried it out it came up with these errors: