No output from print (icons all mark zero)

Godot Version

Godot Engine v4.2.1, Linux, OpenGL3

Question

Sorry I was looking for the newbie corner, if this is not the right place to ask this question let me know.

The print function is not outputting anything

I also tried to add a breakpoint on the print line as well; however nothing happened, it just ran without stopping at the breakpoint and the sprite is correctly showing on the screen. (no breakpoint on the screenshot, that was a straight F6)

PS: I have seen Print command not printing but this is different, all my icons are marking zero;

I just started learning and I’m following the getting started tutorial (currently at: Creating your first script — Godot Engine (stable) documentation in English) everything worked so far.

I think I got the same issue as you earlier last week :slight_smile: is your script attached to your scene?

in the hieararchy you should see this in the corner of your scene and this is what I was missing lat time I couldnt get any output from the debugger

1 Like

Thanks for the answer jahmmah!

Oh I see that icon in my “Sprite 2D” !
Also, when I right click on “scene1.tscn” and choose “Open Scene” it opens the script directly, so I think it’s attached? But I attached it to the “Sprite2D” I created like the tutorial says, I will try saving the “Sprite2D” as scene instead and see what happens!

1 Like

I just tried again with a new project and no comments in the file; I got the same result

(PS: I didn’t add the rendering on the screenshot this time but you can see it’s running on the top right corner)