Is_on_floor() is sometimes weirdly detecting the wall as a floor

Godot Version

Question

So, I’m pretty new to Godot. I’m using is_on_floor() and is_on_wall() to detect whether or not my character is grounded or wall-sliding, and I’ve encountered an issue where if the character runs into a hole just slightly bigger than itself, is_on_floor() continues to output true, even though the floor normal is completely horizontal and identical with the wall normal, which to my understanding shouldn’t be possible. My floor_max_angle is the default. Through testing I’ve figured out that for this bug to happen, leaving the floor and coming into contact with the wall need to happen on the same frame.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif-converter

This mostly only happened if I applied gravity to the character in a grounded state as well as in the air, while switching to only applying it while in the air seemed to fix it, though I found out it was still possible by coming off a one-way platform in just the right way. Through testing, I found that by changing the floor_snap_length to be bigger, the descent down the wall was faster, and that through get_real_velocity() the downward velocity was always the same as the physics framerate.

Also, in certain parts of the level this weird walking down the wall only goes on for exactly one tile (100px) before correcting itself, while in other spots it continues indefinitely and doesn’t stop. No clue why, they’re functionally identical from what I can see.

Despite searching a lot, I haven’t found any mention of anything like this. Does anyone know what’s happening here?

1 Like

You can try several things:

• Make your KinematicBody’s collision smaller or square-shaped.
  • Use Raycasts instead of is_on_floor.
  • Slow down your character.
  • Increase the gravity of your character.